Copy

ASAPbio newsletter volume 36

 
Community Call on culture change, technology needs for preprints, webinar recap, and more

May Community Call 'Bringing culture change to science communication'

At our next Community Call on May 24 (noon EDT/5pm BST/6pm CEST/1pm BRT) we will host a roundtable discussion around culture change in science communication. Our three speakers will share the approaches they have taken to support change in the scientific culture, and what they learned about what works (and does not) in supporting sustainable and scalable shifts in research practices.

Join us for a discussion with our speakers:

  • Clarissa Carneiro, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) and the Brazilian Reproducibility Initiative, ReproducibiliTea Brazil.
  • Brian Nosek, Executive Director at Center for Open Science (US).
  • Malvika Sharan, Community Manager and Research Associate at The Alan Turing Institute (UK) and co-Founder of The Open Life Science program.
Register for the Community Call

Shared technology needs for preprints

We are excited to release a report on shared technology needs for preprints in the life sciences, the result of a collaboration with the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative. The report is the culmination of work aiming to map missing technologies to enhance preprint-based collaboration and innovation, and it outlines identified needs around markup language conversion, linking from preprints to their journal versions, preprint recommendations via searchers or feeds, and features related to review and feedback on preprints. You can also find a citable copy of this report on Zenodo.

We encourage feedback and invite you to comment on the report with Hypothesis.

Preprints in plant sciences and agriculture – webinar recap

On April 29 we co-hosted a webinar with CABI where we discussed how preprint trends are looking for plant sciences and agriculture. We heard the perspectives of four fantastic speakers: Sridhar Gutam, founder of agriRxiv and IndiaRxiv; Sam Hindle, Content Manager at bioRxiv and medRxiv; Stephanie van Wyk, post-doctoral research fellow at the Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute; and Niklaus Grünwald, founding Editor-in-Chief for CABI Agriculture and Bioscience.

Learn more about the discussion at our blog post or at CABI's summary post. You can also catch up on with the webinar recording.

Preprint feedback interactive workshop

ASAPbio is organizing an interactive workshop to collect information on what elements make preprint feedback useful for preprint authors and readers. The workshop will take place on May 27 at 3pm BST/4pm CEST/10am EDT/11am BRT/7:30pm IST.

Interested in participating in the workshop? Please contact Victoria Yan at victoria.yan@asapbio.org.

Launch of Translate Science

Translate Science is an open volunteer group interested in improving the translation of the scientific/scholarly literature. Translations improve communication and make science more inclusive and effective. The group is interested in a range of activities to help translations: providing information (on making and finding translations), networking, designing and building tools and lobbying for seeing translations as valuable research output. More about the initiative and how you can contribute on their blog post.


Meet the 2021 ASAPbio Fellows
 
The ASAPbio Fellows have been selected to participate in a six-month program that provides them with tools and skills to drive discussions about the productive use of preprints in the life sciences, and to become ASAPbio representatives for their communities. Each month, we feature a few of the 2021 ASAPbio Fellows so you can get to know them better. Read more about the program participants here.


Keti Zeka

I am a CRUK Fellow at the Zayed Centre for Research Into Rare Disease in Children, University College London, UK. My research interest aims to explore the cross-talk of proteomics and metabolic aspects of Leukaemic Stem Cells with a strong interaction at an epigenetic level. I was trained as a medical biotechnologist in Italy where I also completed my PhD in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology Innovation. I am an AIRC-FIRC (Italian Association Cancer Research) and a Marie-Skłodowska Curie Alumna. 

My interest in preprints is to achieve a faster and more transparent way of publishing good work.




Umar Ahmad

I am currently a senior academic staff at the Molecular Genetics Informatics (MGI), Department of Anatomy, Bauchi State University, Nigeria. My work primarily involves deciphering the regulatory pathways that drive tumour recurrence and progression as well as dissecting the genetic susceptibility of cancer among Africans. 

I would like to further explore how the publishing industry and preprint servers share these scientific findings to promote open science and open scholarly communication. I am also excited about sharing codes and life science datasets publicly on the Github repository to promote reproducibility and data science training. 



Nafisa Jadavji

I am an Assistant Professor at Midwestern University (Glendale, AZ, USA) in the Biomedical Sciences Program. My lab investigates the impact of nutrition on diseases of aging using preclinical models. 

As an early career researcher I am interested in getting involved with preprints. I am currently a bioRxiv affiliate and really enjoy it. I want to increase awareness about preprints as well as the benefits. 

News roundup

'Pandemic preprints—a duty of responsible stewardship' - The founders of medRxiv discuss how the server is handling COVID-19 preprints, and their efforts to facilitate prompt sharing of COVID-19 research findings while applying screening and policies aimed at preventing harm.

NIH Preprint Pilot Update - NLM shared an update on the ongoing work indexing preprints and encourages feedback on preprints and the PubMed/PMC preprint pilot.

Karen Coghlan, ASAPbio 2021 Fellow, has developed a preprint guide for the Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

 
Events

ASAPbio will participate in

Iratxe will be a speaker at the open science symposium 'Jornada de Ciencia Abierta para los Institutos de Investigación Sanitaria' on June 29 (in Spanish).

Other events

eLife is hosting the #ECRWednesday Webinar: Preprinting in medicine on May 26.

The EASE conference is running a debate on the proposition 'Preprints are going to replace journals' on June 24.
 
Facebook
Twitter
Website
YouTube
Copyright © 2021 ASAPbio, Execept where noted, content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.