Dear <<Salutation>>,

The Council of Canadians has a proud track record of defending the right to protest. We’ve also witnessed what members, supporters, and allies have experienced at the hands of the police while exercising this right.

We have seen intimidation of LNG protesters, surveillance of environmental demonstrators, violence against Indigenous land defenders, and brutality and killings in Black and racialized communities.

We have long expressed that there is a double-standard of police responses to dissent. While far-right groups have been granted a wide berth to disrupt communities, police forces have been quick to shut down Black Lives Matter protests, Land Defenders at Wet'suwet'en, and encampments of unhoused people – to name a few. We fear that double standards are about to become even more stark.

This is not the Canada we want.

To better understand this moment in Canadian history, we turn to allies and leaders in anti-racist research and organizing.

Please join us at our upcoming webinar where we will explore and discuss issues of policing, protest, and the resurgence of the far right.

REGISTER NOW!

Date: Thursday May 5, 2022 
Time: 7pm ET, 8pm AT, 8:30pm NT, 5pm MT, 4pm PT 
Location: On Zoom

Featuring panelists: 

  • Barbara Perry, Researcher of right-wing extremism in Canada; Professor, Ontario Tech University
  • El Jones, Professor and researcher at Mount Saint Vincent University; Organizer and activist on police defunding and abolition
  • Sleydo' (Molly Wickham), Land Defender, Wet'suwet'en
  • Erica Ifill, Ottawa-based economist, columnist, activist

This conversation will be moderated by award-winning journalist Anne Lagacé Dowson, who is the former host and producer of CBC Radio's Radio Noon, a daily current affairs and phone-in program in Quebec.

RSVP HERE
We look forward to gathering with you all to reflect on this moment and work together to build a better future.
With hope and solidarity,

Ravi Joshi
Co-Executive Director
The Council of Canadians
 
P.S. A strong democracy requires strong grassroots movements. Can you help the Council as we respond to this moment and plan for what comes next? A donation of just $5, $10 or $20 can make a big difference.
Forward this email to a friend

View in browser | Update your preferences | Add us to your address book

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Website
Copyright © 2022 Council of Canadians, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.