Ignas Krunglevičius x Oslo Sinfonietta

In collaboration with Hennie Onstad Art Centre, Oslo Sinfonietta will in May this year premiere a new work by composer an artist Ignas Krunglevičius.
Krunglevičius will create an auditive, visual and haptic experience where the analogue and acoustic sounds of the ensemble meet the physical form and resonance of custom-made steel object that will become part of the ensemble.

Krunglevičius´ description of his work:
Krzysztof Penderecki’s “Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima”, one of the hallmark pieces
of 20th century composition, is a major source of inspiration as I am preparing for this project. While hearing this intense, relentless, and utterly visceral work, I keep asking, how does a music sound like if it would react to the surrounding events of our time similar as in Threnody? What would be my take on it?

This installation and music composition I will attempt to merge my visual art work and music practice. As this work will be mostly composed in year 2020-21, it will reflect my experiences of this special transitional time. Anxieties, anger, apathy will be modulated in to the music. The composition will be structured as if one reacts to trauma: through stages of shock, denial, anger and acceptance, leading to recovery. The steel sculptures will function as objects that absorb all those exhausting feelings and perhaps even heal us. The project will be akin to a other-timely ritual, where the sorrows and grief are placed in to inanimate objects, so that we could be set free.

Arne Nordheim 90 years - Cikada Duo collaborates with Lasse Marhaug

At the beginning of the 90s, Arne Nordheim contacted Bjørn Rabben and Kenneth Karlsson in Cikada Duo. Nordheim wanted to create an updated version of his work Respons III for four percussionists, church organ and electronics. They met up in Cikada’s rehearsal space, where Rabben adapted the percussion parts for one player, Karlsson transferred the church organ part to synthesizer, and Nordheim reworked the electronics together with Mats Claesson. The new version got the name Link, and shortly after its premiere, Nordheim also suggested making a new version of his work Colorazione.

Given Nordheim’s substantial influence on the Norwegian contemporary music scene, it seems more than appropriate to mark the late composer’s 90th anniversary by revisiting this project. Cikada Duo has, therefore, asked Lasse Marhaug to compose a piece that can resonate with Nordheim’s works and lift the project into the present day. This week, 28 years later, and in Cikada’s new rehearsal space, Cikada Duo and Lasse Marhaug have started the process.

PERSONHOOD for Andreas Borregaard & Oslo Sinfonietta

We are happy to share that Oslo Sinfonietta will be working with irish composer Jennifer Walshe and accordionist Andreas Borregaard.

Borregaard is currently working on his artistic PhD project at the Norwegian Music Academy: «Just Do It! – exploring the musician´s use of bodily performance». In this project, he is exploring the challenges a musician trained as an instrumentalist meets when not only all of the instrument, but also all of the musician’s body is integrated as part of a work’s expressive palette. This is often the case in large parts of the multi-aesthetic contemporary music known as The New Discipline.
Internationally renowned, Walshe has for a long time been a pioneer on this field and a defining force for the New Discipline. 

In 2017, Walshe wrote the solo piece SELF-CARE to Borregaard – a collaboration that turned out to be very productive. The work has since been performed 17 times in 12 different countries. The work was later to play an important role in Borregaard’s PhD project.

Borregaard has now commissioned a new work by Walshe, which is not only part of his research, but will also be realised in collaboration with Oslo Sinfonietta. “This is a dream come true!” says Borregaard.
Copyright © 
Foreningen Oslo Sinfonietta og Cikada
c/o Sentralen Postboks 183, Sentrum. 0102 Oslo. Norway

You are receiving this email because you have signed up, attended a performance or been involved with the Oslo Sinfonietta or Cikada in some form.

Our mailing address is:

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Oslo Sinfonietta & Cikada · Sentralen · Postboks 183, Sentrum · Oslo, 0102 · Norway